Are You Experiencing A Midlife Crisis?

Are You Experiencing A Midlife Crisis?


Though aging is the biggest blessing of all, it can also lead to feelings of depression, remorse and anxiety, causing many people to do things out of their character.

Our society has given a name to these feelings, this phase of life in which we try to feel youthful again as we struggle to come to terms with the fact that we are closer to the end than to the beginning. That is a Midlife Crisis.

We’ve all heard about them, many have experienced them, now it’s time to talk freely about them!

The 6 Stages Of A Midlife Crisis

As with all seasons in life, a midlife crisis too comes with stages. These feelings are far more common than we allow ourselves to feel. By creating awareness around them, we can experience a midlife crisis without hurting ourselves or those we love.

  1. Denial. The first stage. You start to realize your body does not work the same, you don’t look the same or feel the same. This creates a bit of a panic causing you to treat those you love in odd manners – treating adult children like babies, treating your spouse like they are washed up and old, getting plastic surgery, wearing clothes that are inappropriate, etc. You experience denial that you are how old you are.
  2. Anger. The second stage. You are pissed your life seems to be half over, you are irritable, you lash out at things, criticize your spouse and feel totally stuck. Everything makes you mad, you start to develop new friends/habits/alcohol habits/spending habits all that do not serve the True You.
  3. Replay. You all of sudden try for a do-over. Becoming the opposite of who you are, working out more, dressing differently, going out more or less. Perhaps you engage in an affair or make a large secret purchase all in the name of feeling young again.
  4. Depression. Then the depression hits. The realization of what you have done, where you are in life, your hormones are out of whack as they change with age and you feel like a failure. Here you feel extreme guilt, shame and fear. This is a sign it is time to work through any unhealed trauma.
  5. Withdrawal. The quiet stage. This is the stage for thinking, where they need their spouse or support system to step in, be gentle and keep leading them to the water. They are learning and growing here and very self-critical.
  6. Acceptance. The final stage. The rainbow at the end of the storm. The lessons have been learned, repair is in the air and peace will ensue.

Does any of this sound familiar? Join our conversation on Conscious Straight Talk as we talk more about midlife crisis.

Cheers – You are not alone.

Malibu Mama Loves Xx

Author: malibumamaloves

I am a conscious mama, a dv survivor, a conscious trauma informed life coach who has overcome trauma and helps others turn their pain into purpose in facing their unhealed traumas.

Share This Post On

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *